m u n d a n e

adjective

  1. common; ordinary; banal; unimaginative.
  2. of or relating to this world or earth as contrasted with heaven; worldly; earthly: mundane affairs.
  3. of or relating to the world, universe, or earth.

When looking for an object to paint… I’m usually drawn to the pretty ones—be it flowers, sunsets, clothes, etc. I rarely look to mundane things as the subject of my artwork. Today, that routine changed. I already saw my Inapo’s orchids which were in full bloom. Sila na ang plano kong idrawing. But there were insects on the flower so I couldn’t pick them. That’s when I saw leaves on the ground. I thought, “Hey, I haven’t tried painting one of those.” So I picked. I picked the fallen, the broken, the dying, the useless.

As I was painting, I was reminded how God is like that with us. He picks us. He uses the useless. He chooses the fools to shame the wise (1 Corinthians 1:27). He sees the beauty in our brokenness. Just as He used His Son, Jesus—a king born in a manger, a God who went down from His throne to go through suffering as we humans do (1 Peter 2:21). If we’ll only submit to His loving pursuit. He can turn our mundane life into a magnificent display of His goodness, His love, His mercy. Because you are chosen. You are the object of His affections. Let yourself be picked. Let Him make a miracle out of your mundane life.

 

 

 

 

How blessed is God! And what a blessing he is! He’s the Father of our Master, Jesus Christ, and takes us to the high places of blessing in him. Long before he laid down earth’s foundations, he had us in mind, had settled on us as the focus of his love, to be made whole and holy by his love. Long, long ago he decided to adopt us into his family through Jesus Christ. (What pleasure he took in planning this!) He wanted us to enter into the celebration of his lavish gift-giving by the hand of his beloved Son.

Ephesians 1:3-6, MSG

 

Leave a Reply

