s l o w

Some days you just can’t get yourself to produce something that you think is “worthy.” Today is one of those days for me 😞
I felt unproductive, shifting from one task to another. alt tab click click alt tab. I was restless. I started questioning my abilities, wondering if I should just resign because I’m not doing my job well. I started thinking if my experience and years of study are all going to waste. Those thoughts burdened me more than the tasks at hand, which only slowed down my progress. They even overshadowed the truth that I am making progress—however small of a progress it was.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Then I remembered my favorite animal… Turtles… They remind me…especially the tortoise (they’re different from turtles, just so we’re clear*)…that slow is fast. Slow is okay as long as you’re going in the right direction. Yes, I still have a lot to do and learn. But taking my cue from the tortoise…

Slowness doesn’t mean there’s no progress.

The Lord is not slow to fulfill his promise as some count slowness, but is patient toward you, not wishing that any should perish, but that all should reach repentance.

(2 Peter 3:9, ESV)

Rather than moving in haste, we need to stay steadfast in the race towards the finish line (or in my case, the deadline).

Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.

(Hebrews 12:1-2, ESV)

The tortoise can’t get rid of its heavy shell, but I can let go of my anxious thoughts.

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

(Philippians 4:6-8, NKJV)

And with God’s grace, slow is, indeed, fast. 🐢✨

*Turtles have fins and can swim, tortoises have trunks and can’t swim

Leave a Reply

