s e e d

Ponder this: what are the prayers God has already answered for you this 2017?

I’ve learned that looking back always, always helps us put things in perspective.

It’s so easy to miss the prayers He’s answering right now if we’re busy looking forward to the promises we want to claim. It’s easy to ignore the tiny progresses we’re making if we’re waiting for a dramatic miracle moment.

I’m really preaching this to myself because I’m the type who wants to see results immediately. I think that my profession as a creative designer contributes to this. Every time I need to design something, I do it and see the layout or artwork right away. I don’t have to wait, the moment I click, drag, click or the time I put my pencil on paper, I see the output, I see changes. So when it comes to breakthroughs, I want it to be that way, too. I want to see it happen the moment I say amen. Yes, God can make it happen that way, but most of the time… we’re told to wait, to keep praying, to stay in faith.

I remember a time when I planted seeds and according to the instructions that go along with it, it will take 3-7 days for it to sprout. But 2 weeks went by and there was still no sign of greenery in my pot of brown soil. That made me sad and disappointed I wanted to throw the pot away. I forgot that it takes time to grow.

So what do we do in the waiting?

Trust God with the seed

We need to surrender. We need to be patient. When you know that you’ve planted a seed in faith (whether through prayer, time, an encouragement, or a gift), you need to trust God with it. Trust that that seed is going to sprout. Also pray for the soil of your heart, and the hearts of the people you’re praying for. (See the parable of the seeds and the sower, Luke 8:5-8, 11-15)

And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.

Philippians 1:6, ESV

Abide in the True Vine

Abide. Abide in Jesus. Don’t be so busy trying to cultivate your garden, that you cut yourself off from the True Vine. We can get so caught up in doing the work we want done, we forget that apart from Him, we can do nothing.

Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me.

John 15:4, ESV

Keep sowing, keep watering

Keep on. Keep praying. Keep hoping. Keep loving. Even when you see no changes, even when it hurts. Even if you don’t feel like it. Keep on. And in God’s beautiful time, you will see a big, beautiful oak tree in the place where you planted a small acorn.

If it seems slow, wait for it;
    it will surely come; it will not delay.

Habakkuk 2:3, ESV

And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.

Galatians 6:9, ESV

 

I planted, Apollos watered, but God gave the growth.

1 Corinthians 3:6, ESV

 

seed

/sēd/
noun

  1. a flowering plant’s unit of reproduction, capable of developing into another such plant.
  2. any of a number of stronger competitors in a sports tournament who have been assigned a specified position in an ordered list with the aim of ensuring that they do not play each other in the early rounds.

verb

  1. sow (land) with seeds.
  2. (of a plant) produce or drop seeds.

 


Prayer point: Lord, thank You for the seeds you’ve planted through me and in me. I trust You, O God with them. I surrender the need to control what happens to those seeds. I surrender to You, because I know You make everything beautiful in Your own time. Help me trust in the unseen. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

