s e a

And God said, “Let the waters under the heavens be gathered together into one place, and let the dry land appear.” And it was so. God called the dry land Earth, and the waters that were gathered together he called Seas. And God saw that it was good.

Genesis 1:9-10, ESV

Last March 12, my family and I got to enjoy the refreshing hues of the sea in Tingloy, Batangas. We drove from Laguna at 5am and arrived at Philpan Dive Resort in Anilao at around 7am. From the resort, we took a 30-minute boat ride to Portaleza Island. Before boarding the boat, my brother and cousins got to see a lovely surprise—dolphins jumping out of the water! (I missed it but that’s okay, I’ll see them in the right time haha) Locals call them “lumba-lumba” and they mentioned that the dolphins have been playing around the area all morning.

The sea will always have a special place in my heart because it’s where we had our first family trips when I was little. We would ride the bus to Jose Panganiban, Camarines Norte, Daddy’s hometown, where their house is just a 3-minute walk away from the sea. Back then, I would pick seashells to add to my collection of kuringkudings, as my Lola would put it. But through the years, I realized that those shells, however beautiful they were, belong on the shores, not in a box in my room. They serve a purpose for tiny creatures who need homes. I even took sand and a starfish home before. Now, I’ve learned to enjoy things without the need to possess it. I’ve learned to take nothing but pictures and memories with me. Here are some of them:

This was taken in front of Philpan Dive Resort. The resort is right across the jumpoff point of Mt. Gulugod-Baboy otherwise known as Mt. Pinagbanderahan.
My cousins from my mother’s side, Anya and Tin-tin.
Crystal clear waters and lush corals
I forgot to bring my snorkel with me so I just posed for a photo on the rocks 😦
Rocky trek with JP, Anya, and Tin-tin
There a lot of beautiful rock formations around the island.
“See the line where the sky meets the sea? It calls me.”
Shore picks: broken but beautiful. Don’t worry I just took a photo and left them.
Sealfie. I love the glow of my skin after swimming in the sea.

The seas have so much to offer from the surface down to its depths. (I wish I had photos of what it looks like under, but you’ll have to see its majesty yourself.) So please, please, let’s protect our seas. Let’s keep them pristine. Here are some of the ways you can help conserve our seas:

Pick don’t drop your trash. Let’s keep our beaches and seas trash-free. Always bring a garbage bag with you when you know you’re going to stay for a while.

Support and volunteer with local NGOs that advocates marine life conservation like Save Philippine Seas, and Marine Wildlife Watch of the Philippines. You can also learn more about the sea through their programs and educational efforts.

You can also sign this online petition against the underwater theme park that’s set to be built in Palawan. The construction of this park can significantly damage Palawan’s marine ecosystems. We don’t need a park to enjoy the world underwater. We cannot add to what God has already created so beautifully. It’s already wonderful as it is.

I believe we can all contribute to the protection and preservation of that big blue world. What we do, however small, can make an impact when we do them together.


Let’s also take the time to pray for the people in Batangas. It was hit by 4 earthquakes in just a week. Houses, establishments, and infrastructures, even mountains were damaged. We cannot prevent earthquakes but we can prevent disasters if we prepare well. Check out this article for more information on earthquake preparedness.

Leave a Reply

