u p l i f t #1

April 4, 2017. The start date of Elle Luna’s 100-day project initiative across the worldwide web.

Last 2015, #100DaysofFindingMagicInTheMundane was my project. I trained my eyes to see more than what meets the eye. It opened my heart to always expect the miraculous even in the mundane. This year, I thought that I should do something that’s not just for me, but for the people around me as well.

So #100DaysOfUpliftingOthers was born.

April 4, 2017 came. The first day for this initiative. I was excited to go to work, thinking who would be on the receiving end of my encouragement. Only to end up doing the exact opposite. 😦 😦 😦 I failed to do the one thing I wanted to start by snapping and shouting at my officemate for not listening to my suggestion. Day 1. Uplift = 0.  Or should I say -1?

I felt like a failure and beat myself up for losing my cool. I apologized to my officemate shortly after my fit. But the damage has been inflicted. You cannot undo the wounds your words are capable of. But before I got home that night, God turned things around… The very thing I wanted to be doing for someone else, a very kind stranger did for me.

My #100DaysOfUpliftingOthers Day 1 ended with someone praying for me. With her prayer, God reminded me that I needed to just let humility flow through me. And isn’t that what we really need in order to uplift others? We need to be willing to step down from feeding our ego, so we can start lifting other people up.

After Day 1, it became clear that encouraging others is easier said than done. It has to be intentional. You can’t just wait for the right moment. It’s not so much a waiting game, but more of a pursuit. I need to be willing to step out of the familiar small talk, and inject encouragements and praises in my conversations. Every day, I need to make time and find a person I can encourage, honor, and pray for.

 

The world is already filled with so much pride. It’s time we rise above self-love.


I feel like this project is still on beta-stage. I have to figure out a way to make my entries tangible, instead of just stories. Your ideas are very much welcome!

 

Leave a Reply

